Psalms 19:1-4 (NLT)
1 The heavens proclaim the glory of God. The skies display his craftsmanship.
2 Day after day they continue to speak; night after night they make him known.
3 They speak without a sound or word; their voice is never heard.
4 Yet their message has gone throughout the earth, and their words to all the world. God has made a home in the heavens for the sun.

When I was a little boy . . .

growing up in the late fortys’  – before the age of five, there was something that I heard alot.  I was always running around constantly exploring and playing “coyboys and indains”, or “war”.  Playing was my focus.  I always had to be the good guy and you the bad.  I always had to win.  I always made the rules.   And since I was always tall for my age and he loudest, I usually got my way.  I wasn’t a brat exactly, the kind of kid that pushed the other kids around.  Infact I was easliy intimadated by anyone else that looked and sounded like me and even more so if they were brats.  But all of this is getting off of the subject. . . . Oh one other thing I remember was when I was real little – under three or four, my Mom had to often tie me to the step of our trailer to keep me from running off.

So any time we went somewhere out into the “Big” world out there, which meant into town, we didn’t have suburbs or strip malls, I woul hear these two things from my Mom;

“Take my hand” and “Stop . . Look . . and Listen!”  Which usually meant crossing a street.

I don’t know about you, but I have spent the rest of my life learning that lesson.  I find that this life we live now days doesn’t make that easy.  Always in a hurry and “you can have it now” mentality.   “Wait” in the American way of life is a four letter word of the not so nice kind.  And I can’t remember that I have ever heard as an adult “Stop – look – and Listen”.

But if there is one thing I have been hearing ever since the Lord came to me it is this   “Be still and know that I am God.”  — “Stop – Look – and Listen.”

But like “All of creation” that voice is small, quiet and perhaps most often ignored or not even heard.  But. . .

Every morning like “All of creation” His is calling to us.  “Stop – Look and Listen.”

When you take a minute to look at all of creation around you, not the things we make —

Won’t you take a few minutes to “Stop – Look- and Listen”,  He has something to say to you.

Don’t be like me and wait until I was laying on the floor dying to call out.  That is not a fun place to be.

There is so much He wants you to know about Him and His love for you.   You can know Him now today if you will just: “Stop Look and Listen.”

