That you are always thinking?

Do you realize that you are always “thinking”?  There is never a time when thoughts are not going on in your head.  Even while your body is sleeping.

It is a world not like this one.  It is the world of the spirit.  While our bodies carry us around in this world, we are actually not of it – we are a spiritual being.  We became that when He breathed His Spirit into the dust we live in.

So what is this world and just what are the thoughts that we hear in our heads?

I would contend that they are the voices of the spirit world that we hear.

When we give utterance to those thoughts, they come out as words.  We make a sound.  Words are the temporal, made manifest in this world.

Another thing that is always going on is that we are always hearing.  We are in fact made to hear.  But is there more to hearing than just the two funny shaped things on the side of our head?

Again I would contend, yes.

As I wrote earlier – hearing is part of the function of listening and listening is about obedience.  ( “Everyone can hear — But — ” Jan. 26th.)

So what are you doing with what you are hearing?  Do you give conscious ear to what you are thinking?  Some of the time or little or none at all?

Do you realize just where and from whom are the thoughts you are hearing come from?

Could it be that some of the thoughts that you speak out may not be your own?

What do you think about what you think?

Do you just believe every thought you hear?

Are all the thoughts the truth?  Or is it more likely that you speak out both blessings and curses, Truths and lies.

I have come to know that paying attention to the thoughts I am continually hearing is of paramount importance to me.  I have come to know that if I want to know what I really think and more often than not – believe —

It is critical that I pay attention to the things I speak – even to the point of writing them down to look at them and question myself.

Where did I get that idea? Is it of God or someone else?

This all gives good cause and new meaning to the words;

“Be slow to speak, but quick to listen.”

So you see Thinking is a very important part of our lives

In fact a critical part.

So maybe we should pay more attention to those thoughts that occupy our minds.  The manifestations of those thoughts aren’t always so pleasant.

Since Jesus is “The Word” maybe I can learn something from Him.

His character is perhaps best expressed in I Cor. 13: 4–7

1 Corinthians 13:4-7 (NIV)

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.

It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.  Love never fails.

Is my life reflecting His character or are my words of another order.  If they are not then who am I listening to?  Who’s thoughts are manifesting in the words I speak?

So do you think, thinking about what you are thinking matters?  I do!!

 

