Bear River Valley

 

I know and then understand — sometimes

Proverbs 3:5-7
“Trust in the LORD with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding.
Seek His will in all you do, and He will show you which path to take.
Don’t be impressed with your own wisdom. Instead, fear the LORD and turn away from evil.”

On my life journey I have seen many beautiful things.  The view above is known as Bear River Valley, which empties into the Yampa Valley off in the distance.  For me, spending time outside on a hill overlook somewhere like this calls me to stop and set awhile with my Father and His son.  It doesn’t matter the season, time of day or the weather.  Most always I hear the call “David come set awhile.” Most often I reply,  “My God.” It is a time of quieting my spirit with an acute awareness of His Spirit in me and all around me.  Slowly and gently I start to see and hear things that my day has drowned out. It is a time of, “Be still and know that I am God.”

Everyday I hear on the TV, “the more I learn, more I know.”  Education, the more I read, the more I understand, the more knowledge I gain.  I have been engrained with the need to understand.  The more I understand and more knowledge I have the more power and success I have.  I have more control of my destiny. I am the one who determines my life.  Ambition seems to be highly prized. Competition and concurring the weapons to put me on top of the rest of mankind.  Battle the place of valor, honor and pride.  Money, sex, the biggest muscles,  greed and youthfulness the driving energy that makes me the winner.  I could go on and on not to mention it is my “Right.”  After all “I am a Cristian and American.”

But somehow when I stop and set with My Lord God.. noting else matters.  Somehow when I realize His presence, my need to understand doesn’t matter. All my Questions no longer matter and float away on the clouds above me.   I know this place I have come here for years. I have set in countless places each unique in it’s own way.  As I look across the valley at the trees, the wild grasses, the wondering stream and the fluffy clouds above, I realize I understand almost nothing about my life and those around me. I understand even less about my Lord..  But somehow I know Him and I am known by Him.  That is all that matters.  I remember He came for the one, (Me).

I often hear from other Christians that they are praying for God’s will for them.  I hear them question their purpose.  Or what kind of ministry, or gifts do they have?  I hear pray more, study more, go to more workshops and seminars and don’t forget my quiet-time.  For this too I could go on and on.  But this thing I know.  I know Him.  He was pleased to reveal Himself in me.  I know His will for me.  I know my purpose.  I know where I am and where we are going and most important to me who is with me always.  I know my journey is eternal.  So each day His mercies are new and my walk, my life is  not so much a process, the realization of His providence,(His will).  It is for me the realization of being eternally alive with Him hear and now and all eternity.  I am living in His Kingdom now.  After all He told me His Kingdom is in me now.

When I ponder about  all of this,  why would I be worried about the troubles I see on the six -o-clock news?  Are there tragedies and is it sad and painful-  yes certainly.  However I know blaming, finding fault, demanding my rights, cursing others, gossiping and law making all ignore one reality.  Christ at our Fathers calling came and reconciled us to Himself and our Father. I do not need fear, worry or fret. I know certainty and need not doubt. Which  by the way is perhaps Satan’s’ greatest weapon from the very beginning (See Genesis three).

So why all this babbling?  Some days I grow weary of all the noise and seek again the quiet and peace of knowing and being with my Lord.  Time in the outdoors reminds, refreshes and renews me.

