fern-lake-cross-2

 

 

 

 

 

1 Corinthians 2:16 (NLT)
16  For, “Who can know the LORD’s thoughts? Who knows enough to teach him?”

 

But we understand these things, for we have the mind of Christ.

 

Here is my thought for today.

When I am called to counsel a young couple planning to marry or a married couple grappling with their new life together – I often have to bring this teaching;

When you come together in this new covenant bond ( called marriage) you have to learn to become one minded. When you were alone you were single-minded – but now you are going threw the process of becoming one minded just as you have become one flesh. It is a process that on average takes a couple, one to three years. It is about learning to yield and to listen. To esteem the other over you.

Our covenant bond with Christ our Lord and bride is the same. My Lord spends my life here bringing me the revelation of one mindedness with Him. As Paul puts it – “We have the mind of Christ.” We give up being “double minded” as James says. The mind of my flesh knows no such thing and cannot. I must learn to listen to my Husband where He resides – in my heart. And so therefore listen with my heart not my mind. It is only in this place in me the holiest of holy’s that I am one with Him in mind and Spirit.

It is wise to remember it takes all of my life time here – that He has determined for me, for Him to bring me to that place of one heart and mind with Him.

At those times I find myself struggling – I have turned away from Him and where He resides and turned to the mind of my flesh. Which by the way did not get saved. my flesh can never be spirit – it is flesh.

The daily battle I fight is the battle over the mind of my flesh and the mind of my heart.

The mind of my flesh has no power over the mind of my heart. The mind of my heart has all the power of the universe in me -The mind of Christ.

I overcome “by the blood of the Lamb and the word of my testimony.”

